APC reach consensus on flag bearers for Feb. 26th by-election

Ekpo Bassey, APC Candidate for Feb. 26th By-election in Akpabuyo State Constituency

APC reach consensus on flag bearers for Feb. 26th by-election

By Our Admin

All Progressive Congress in Cross River State has reach a consensus on the choice of the party’s flag bearer for the February 26th By-elections in the State.

Two by-elections will hold in the state on that date; fixed by the Independent National Electoral Commission: By-election into the Ogoja /Yala Federal Constituency and Akpabuyo State constituency.

Stakeholders of the party in Akpabuyo State constituency at the weekend in a meeting held at the State Secretariat of the party decided to adopt a former Councilor in the local legislature, Hon. Bassey Ekpo as consensus candidate. He was one among eight aspirants. He emerged a consensus candidate to fly the party flag in the by-election after a process that was acceptable to all stakeholders..

The Median also gathered that some of the stakeholders of the Akpabuyo state constituency at the meeting included Architect Bassey Eyo Ndem., Hon. Emmanuel Offiong Bassey, Mr. Edem okokon Effiom. Barr. Edem Effiom Ekong. Former Minister Dr. Emmanuel Nsan. Dr. Ntete Bassey Duke. Sir. Maurice Effiwat.  Prof. Franca Ephraim. The two State executive members of the party; the financial secretary and assistance legal adviser, Mr Effiom Bassey Effiong and Barr. Umoh Effiong. Also in attendance were all elected Councillors in the Ten council Ward’s of Akpabuyo local government area as well as all the Ward Chairmen in the Ten Ward’s of Akpabuyo,  Including the Eight aspirants that were in the race.The stakeholders expressed gratitude to the state Governor who directed them to come out with a-people- acceptable candidate for the party without any imposition.

For the Ogoja Yala Federal Constituency by-election, the state Publicity Secretary of the APC Mr. Erasmus Ekpang confirmed that the party has made efforts to reach a consensus candidate and they are still hopeful to get a consensus candidate but if they can’t, the other option is to go into primaries to choose one from the three aspirants that are yet to give in to one person among themselves.

He identified the three aspirants as the former State Security Adviser, Mr. Jude Ngaji, a former commissioner in the state Mr. Julius Okpotu and a former party chapter executive member, Chief Henry Owe.

The candidate of the party in the last general election for the same position was Jude Ngaji who is seen as a front runner for the party ticket but the Governor has instructed the party to ensure that they achieve a consensus or allow the aspirants to face a transparent primary election that will bring about the most popular and acceptable candidate that will win for the APC.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *